Primrose vs Hammies 2nd XV – Match Report

Red Mike turns on the Heat!

Michael Badenhorst, better known by his team mates as “Red Mike” or “Kreef” turned on the heat with scintillating performance away against Primrose 2nd XV on Saturday 25 April 2015. Fielding five changes from resent away win at Vic’s, Hammies – “Seccies” convincingly defeated Primrose 78 – 7.

The talented 19 year old red headed 194 cm flanker / lock, starting a game for the first time this season (used as an impact player in previous matches) scored not one but 5 tries in the demolishing of the previously undefeated Primrose 2nd team.

His first try was scored from the kick-off when Primrose could not catch the ball and “Kreef” was on hand to open the score within seconds of the start of the game.  “Red Mike” scored his hat-trick of tries before half time and then added a couple more in the second half.

Leading 40 – 7 at half time, Hammies – “Seccies” continue to dominate the game and scored another 38 answered points in the second half and ran in a total of twelve (12) tries in the match. Craig Pheiffer who returned from a short period of absence scored a hat-trick of tries but his terrific effort was overshadowed by the number 7 -flanker, Michael Badenhorst. Once again Mr. “Reliable”, Lohan Lubbe who started at flyhalf for the first time this season converted nine (9) of the 12 tries. Primroses only score was a converted intercept try midway through the first half.

With two wins from two games, Hammies – “Seccies” have moved into second place on the log, five points adrift of log leaders, False Bay who has played one game more. Keep on going – HAMMIES!

Our point’s scorers against Primrose were – Tries by Michael Badenhorst (Loose forward) x 5, Craig Pheiffer (Wing) x 3, Calvin Kotze (Centre) x 2, Ryan Johnson (Wing) and Patrick Holman (Captain and Eighth man) while Lohan Lubbe (Flyhalf) added 9 conversions.

Our starting Line-up that played against Primrose –


Angelo Nelson
Craig Pheiffer
Calvin Kotze                                            (replaced by Monre Lingeveldt)
Chad Moolman                                      (replaced by Gino Lupini)
Ryan Johnson
Lohan Lubbe
Andrew Coetzee                                   (replaced by Dustin Jinka)
Patrick Holman                                      (replaced by Robbie Trueman)
Michael Badenhorst
Ross Beckett                                             (replaced by Paul Maxwell)
Michael Teichman
Jan-Hendrick v d Linde                       (replaced by Andre Wuister)
Bantu Mene                                               (replaced by Daniel Pikker)
Caleb Rightford
Mike van Niekerk

Match Report by Derrick Lichtenstein