Bartels runs past Pniel

Hamilton SP-RFC disappointed after the surprise home loss against Tygerberg RFC a week ago wanted to prove why they are still top of the SLA log when they visited bottom of the league table, Pniel-Villagers RFC on Saturday. With several players out injured, Head Coach, Niekkie Viljoen ran the changes for this away outing. He gave 1st team debuts to the former Puma Scrumhalf, Johan Herbst and to the young talented Nathan Meilhon (Prop) who had returned from a season playing rugby in France. Harlon Klaassen also made a welcome return from the WP squad duties, while Luke van der Smit (Loose Forward) and Grant Muller (Hooker) returned from our Seccies.

Iewan Bartels playing in his seventh first team game of the 2017 SLA season used his blistering pace to run in no fewer than five tries against Pniel-Villagers at the beautiful setting in Pniel on Saturday. The winger scored his teams tries during a second half in a 25 minute blitz during this period. He has now scored an amazing 14 tries for Hamilton SP-RFC 1st team this season that does not include the 2 tries for the Seccies.

Match day instructions were simple – stick to our structures and get a bonus point win and that is exactly what was achieved when Hammies turned in a solid attacking performance with a thumping 83 – 17 away win. To make this win all the sweeter was the fact that our Club sponsor / donator also went on to win the Durban July with their horse, Marinaresco. Well done Bryn and Marsh….

Within three minutes, we were on the score board from an attacking lineout in the Pniel 22 meter area. A solid maul, to a ruck and the ball went wide for winger, Brandon Asher-Wood to open the score a converted try in the far corner. From the restarting kick-off with good take by Lock, Justin Moberly a full back line move from within our half saw Fullback, Siya Alam join the line to score a very good team try. On 10 minutes, Eigthman, Neil Clegorn scored from an attacking scrum from 5 meters out that was followed by the bonus point try when Brandon Asher-Wood scored his second try from another good lineout that saw the ball go through the hands of backs to set the winger free. Loose Forward, Jacques Oosthuizen scored the last points of the half from an attacking lineout maul on 28 minutes to extend the lead to 29 – 0 before he was yellow carded a few minutes later.

Pniel-Villagers drew first blood in the second half from a converted penalty before Iewan Bartels turned on his pace to score his first try after chasing down a Harlon Klaassen’s chip kick. From the kick-off, Pniel scored a good try from a chipped through ball that split the Hammies defence. Flyhalf, Shane Vallender scored the first of his two tries from a quick tap penalty by debutant scrumhalf, Johan Herbst in the opposition 22 meter area.

Cometh the hour cometh the flyer and did he show terrific pace. MOTM, Iewan Bartels scored four converted tries within a space of 15 minutes by outsprinting the cover defence of the opposition. All his tries were converted by Shane Vallender who scored his second try three minutes from time to rake up 28 points for the match that included converting the try by Lock, Jade Kriel’s on fulltime. Jade broke through the middle of the park for a terrific 40 meter dash to dot down. Shane Vallender is now also the leading point’s scorer in SLA having scored 5 tries, 4 penalties and 42 conversions to total 121 points in ten games.

After 10 matches, Hamilton SP-RFC is still on top of SLA with 42 points. False Bay is 4 points adrift after 9 matches, UCT are on 35 points after 11 games, Tygerberg on 31 after 8, Durbell on 27 after 8 and Maties are on 25 points after only 5 matches. It is now all to play for as the season is hotting up for a tight finish

Our next outing is a home game in two weeks time against our neighbours, SK Walmers on Saturday 15 July 2017. Let’s keep a Blue Head!

Match day squad versus Pniel-Villagers:

  1. Steven Robbeson
  2. Jonathan Raphael
  3. Albert Loubscher
  4. Justin Moberly
  5. Jade Kriel
  6. Jacques Oosthuizen
  7. Brendon Groenewald
  8. Neil Cleghorn
  9. Johan Herbst
  10. Shane Vallender
  11. Iewan Bartels
  12. Morgan Newman
  13. Harlon Klaassen
  14. Brandon Asher-Wood
  15. Siya Alam
  16. Grant Muller
  17. Nathan Meilhon
  18. Gareth Rowe
  19. Luke van der Smit
  20. Juwell Samuels
  21. Jason Kriel
  22. Valentino Wellman