Another bonus point win for Hammies-“Seccies”!

Hammies-“Seccies” continued with their winning streak with a solid 36 – 0 away win at SK Walmers in the SLA.

A tough rugby battle took place between the local neighbours and for the second week running, the pace of Hammies-“Seccies” flyer, Iewan Bartels was too much to handle for the home team when he scored his second consecutive hat-trick. Hammies lead 17 – 0 at the break in a match that was delayed by 30 minutes because the Referee for the 3rd team game did not arrive and the under 20 match Referee had to also officiate in the SLA 3 game. Yet again Hammies-“Seccies” started very slow and used the strong pack to gain momentum for their elusive backs to score 5 of the six tries. Another bonus point win with another clean sheet was enough to secure a solid victory by a quality team!

UCT 2nd team are currently top of the SLA 2 – log on 33 points from 8 games – followed by Hammies – “Seccies” on 29 points from six games, Vic’s 2nd teams are a further 7 points behind from 6 games, Maties 2nd team on 21 points from 7 games and then False Bay on 19 points from 5 games. Let’s keep the momentum going – HAMMIES!

Our point’s scorers against SK Walmers were – Tries by Iewan Bartels (Wing) x 3, Craig Pheiffer (Wing), Paddy Holman (Lock), Andrew Coetzee (Scrumhalf) and Lohan Lubbe (Flyhalf) added 3 conversions.

Our starting Line-up and bench that played against SK Walmers –

Angelo Nelson
Craig Pheiffer                                        (replaced by Ryan Johnson)
Calvin Kotze
Chad Moolman                                     (replaced by Monre Lingeveldt)
Iewan Bartels
Lohan Lubbe
Ryno Rust                                                (replaced by Andrew Coetzee)
Michael Badenhorst
Marnus Coetzee
Paul Maxwell                                         (replaced by Ross Beckett)
Sphephelo Buthelezi                         (replaced by Jan-Hendrick v d Linde) Patrick Holman
Mike van Niekerk                                (replaced by Daniel Pikker)
Caleb Rightford                                                                                                         Johnny Raphael                                    (replaced by Bantu Mene)