2014 Awards Dinner

After a reasonably successful year at the club we ended it off with a great awards dinner which was very well supported. Being the day before the Currie Cup final being hosted at Newlands it was quite fitting that we as a club closed off our year just before (We hoped) that Western Province sealed off theirs with a home Currie Cup win.

After a moving and emotional welcome by Chairman, Mike Reynolds, we all welcome Mkhuseli Faku (Executive Chairman, Calulo Investments) up as one of our main sponsors to say a few words about his rugby experiences as well as his involvement in Hammies.

After a great meal and a few fines we got stuck into the awards. Congratulations to all the nominee’s & winners. Below is a list of all the evenings winners.

U20 Awards:

Most Improved Player:
Awards Dinner '14 Welcome & U20 002

Best Backline Player:
Awards Dinner '14 Welcome & U20 003

Player of the Year:
Awards Dinner '14 Welcome & U20 004

Players Player of the Year:
Awards Dinner '14 Welcome & U20 005

Best Forward: Frana Esterhuizen (Absent)

Senior Awards:

Captains Cup – Awarded to the Clubs best Captain:
Senior Awards 2014 012Beryl Stuart Award – Awarded to the player with the most guts:
Senior Awards 2014 013

Vic Bjorkman Cup – Awarded to the Full Back of the Year:
Senior Awards 2014 014

Gerry Brand Cup – Awarded to the Best Back in the 1st XV
Senior Awards 2014 019
Henry Marcus Trophy – Awarded to the Club’s Best Coach
Senior Awards 2014 020

Bob Clark Trophy – Awarded to the Most Improved Senior Player
Senior Awards 2014 021

Philip Marcus Cup – Awarded to the Best Team

Senior Awards 2014 022

Derick Booysen Memorial Award – Awarded to the Player with the most Enthusiasm
Senior Awards 2014 023

Dane Johnson Floating Trophy – Awarded to Highest Try Scorer
Senior Awards 2014 025

Ettiene Du Plessis Trophy – Awarded to the Sportsman of the Year
Senior Awards 2014 026

Versveld Cup – Awarded to the best 1st XV Forward
Henk Franken (Absent)

Honours Badge – Highest Award to be given by the Club and is done so only due to exceptional service in honour of the Club
Justin Ackerman (Absent)

Chairman’s Cup
Senior Awards 2014 027President’s Cup
Senior Awards 2014 029