Hammies-“Seccies” stay on Top!

Derby league matches are never easy, but yet Hammies-“Seccies” continued there good form with a solid 52 – 7 win against Villagers 2nd team on Friday night to remain top of the SLA – 2!

When you do not play well and yet still win by such a comprehensive margin – it shows signs of quality team. Scoring 50 + points for third consecutive week proved that this current squad of players can go all the way in this 2015 season.

Villager played very well with enough possession, especially in the second half, but could not disrupt a very good Hammies-“Seccies” team.

For once this season, our forwards outscored our backs by 5 tries to 3. Skipper Paddy Holman and his pack were dominant in the early stages of the game, but lost their strangle hold on the match during the second-half that saw Villagers come back stronger. Solid defence by the side was a bridge to far for Villagers and on broken play we hammered a few more nails into the very competitive – Villagers coffin.

Having lead 26 – 7 at halftime, Neil Cleghorn who returned to action after a month, came off the bench to score two good tries that proved too much for Villagers. Once again the explosive winger, Craig Pheiffer was on the score sheet and has moved his try tally to 9 tries in his last three outings.

Hammies remain top of the pile on 19 points after four outings and are on superior point scored difference ahead of the only other unbeaten teams in the league, False Bay also 19 points and UCT on 18 points. Keep on going – HAMMIES!

Our point’s scorers against Villagers were – Tries by Neil Cleghorn (Flank) x 2, Craig Pheiffer (Wing), Calvin Kotze (Centre), Lohan Lubbe (Flyhalf), Paddy Holman (Eighth man), Sphephela Buthelezi (Flank) and Jan-Hendrick van der Linde (Lock) while Lohan Lubbe (Flyhalf) added 6 conversions.


Our starting Line-up that played against Villagers –


Angelo Nelson                                 (replaced by Chad Moolman)
Craig Pheiffer
Calvin Kotze
Morgan Newman
Ryan Johnson                                    (replaced by Monre Lingeveldt)
Lohan Lubbe
Andrew Coetzee                              (replaced by Ryno Rust)
Patrick Holman
Sphephelo Buthelezi
Ross Beckett
Andre Wuister                                   (replaced by Neil Cleghorn)
Jan-Hendrick v d Linde                 (replaced by Paul Maxwell)
Mike van Niekerk
Caleb Rightford                                  (replaced by Robbie Trueman)   Daniel Pikker                                       (replaced by Bantu Mene)

By Derrick Lichtenstein